News & Content: Press Release

Finalists Revealed for Extraordinary 19th Annual ITA CityLIGHTS Awards

Monday, August 6, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Gary Hotze
Share |

Public voting is now open through Friday, August 17


CHICAGO, IL – August 6, 2018 – Today the Illinois Technology Association (ITA) announced the 38 out-of-this-world industry leaders being recognized as finalists at The 19th Annual CityLIGHTS Awards.  The ITA CityLIGHTS Awards, with presenting sponsor Deloitte, is the premier annual event that celebrates and honors achievements from the local tech community.


The winners for each category, with the exception of the CityLIGHTS Industry Champion, are determined by a compilation of the judges’ scores and voting by the public. Voting is now open through Friday, August 17 at


“This year’s finalists exemplify the defied expectations that 2018 brought to the Chicago tech industry,” said ITA CEO Julia Kanouse. “The last few year’s have been record setting, everyone expected that wave to crest but powered by these phenomenal finalists, we’re witnessing another astonishing blockbuster year for these companies and the local tech sector overall.”


Congratulations to the 2018 finalists:


CityLIGHTS Industry Champion: Presented to the company or individual who actively and consistently supports the growth of the Illinois technology industry through leadership and/or collaboration.

·       Steve Miller & Bruce Barron, Co-Founders & Partners, Origin Ventures

·       Polsky Center for Entrepreneurship & Innovation

·       Kristi Ross, Co-CEO, tastytrade


CEO of the Year: Presented to a CEO who has successfully scaled their company through outstanding leadership, ability to attract and retain talented resources, financial accomplishments and the implementation of strategic growth opportunities.

·       Jacob Babcock, CEO, NuCurrent

·       David Kalt, CEO,

·       Amanda Lannert, CEO, Jellyvision

·       Craig Vodnik, CEO, cleverbridge

·       Brad Weisberg, CEO, Snapsheet


Industry Disrupter: Presented to the company that has developed or introduced an ingenious, non-traditional, and innovative product or service that has significantly disrupted its industry.

·       Narrative Science

·       NuCurrent

·       Tempus

·       Tock


Lighthouse: Presented to the growth-stage company, (more than $25 million in revenue) that, through innovation in products, services, or business approach, has grown to become a serious competitor in the marketplace.

·       ActiveCampaign

·       Civis Analytics

·       Litera Microsystems

·       ParkWhiz

·       Vibes


Prominent Woman in Tech: Presented to a preeminent woman in the local industry who has championed a leading role for her female peers by supporting their growth and prominence in the industry.

·       Colleen Egan, Director of People, Culture & Endless Possibilities, Clarity Partners LLC

·       Kim Greuling, VP of Engineering, Backstop Solutions Group

·       Carolyn Leonard, CEO, DyMynd

·       Patty Lindstrom, CEO & Founder, Living the Brand Academy & Innovation Foundry

·       Marie Tillman, CEO & Founder, Mac & Mia


Outstanding Company Culture: Awarded to the company that has instilled a high-performance culture in their workplace by encouraging employees to take their career to the next level, fostering diversity and inclusion, and are committed to positively contributing to the community.

·       HighGround

·       Jellyvision

·       LaSalle Network

·       TransUnion


Rising Star: Presented to the company with the strongest potential to emerge as a leader in the technology industry ($5 to $25 million in annual revenue).

·       Aclaimant

·       Avionos

·       BenchPrep


·       Snap36


Technologist of the Year: Presented to the individual whose talent has championed true innovation, either through new applications of existing technology or the development of technology to achieve a truly unique product or service.

·       Dr. Alok Choudhary, Founder, Chairman & Chief Scientist, 4C Insights

·       John Higginson, CTO, Enova International

·       Mahi Inampudi, VP of Product & Technology, Envoy Global

·       Adam McElhinney, VP of Data Science, Uptake

·       Vadim Vladimirskiy, Co-Founder & CEO, Nerdio


Discover who wins by attending the ITA CityLIGHTS Awards ceremony on Thursday, September 13 at Morgan Manufacturing in Chicago. Tickets and tables are available for purchase at or contact Jason Mangold at


Thank you to the 2018 presenting sponsor: Deloitte; premier sponsors: Armanino, Gogo, Hyde Park Angels, Madison Dearborn Partners and Silicon Valley Bank; VIP reception sponsor: Lantern Partners; opening reception sponsor: Redbox; and wine sponsor: Imagineer.

Get in touch

222 N. Merchandise Mart Plaza, Suite 1212
Chicago, IL 60654

PH: 1.312.435.2805